Little Leaders – The idea

It is my hope that this will be the beginning of many posts that I will be adding throughout the year. Before we

completed the school year and departed for summer break, my Principal suggested a book that I should read. I must admit that initially I was reluctant to start reading a new book for the summer, especially since I am not the most active reader.  I did however began reading “The Leader in Me“, by Stephen Covey . I began reading the book, mostly during times when I was bored or avoiding doing other work, but as I read I became more and more interested in the concept and ideas that were presented in the book.

For those that are unfamiliar with the Book or with the work of Mr. Covey. Essentially what the core of the book is explaining to teachers and to administrators is that all individuals, students, teachers and parents can be leaders, bu more importantly that our students can be leaders. The book highlights that using simple techniques a classroom and school can:

  • Develops students who have the skills and self-confidence to succeed as leaders in the 21st century.
  • Decreases discipline referrals.
  • Teaches and develops character and leadership through existing core curriculum.
  • Improves academic achievement.
  • Raises levels of accountability and engagement among both parents and staff.

Alth0ugh I was skeptical that this would work in my classroom I am willing to try it. Now before you go commenting that any child and or student is capable of being a leader, remember the context of my classroom. If you have forgotten or don’t know I teach severe special needs children aging from seven to twelve years of age. All of my students have either emotional, behavioral or psychological disorders that require constant supervision and assistance. So trying to get them to focus on others, helping others, being nice and even being polite can be a daily challenge.

This all being stated, I am willing to give it my all. So please follow me in my future posts in relation to this. If you have any comments or suggest PLEASE send them along. Although I have been working with this group/type of students for years the saying goes “It takes a village to raise a child“. Thanks in advance and I look forward to everyone’s suggestions and ideas.

5 thoughts on “Little Leaders – The idea

  1. First off, I admire the fact that you have worked with such challenges for so long. And now you want to try to raise their achievement through student leadership–I’m impressed. I would really like to see how this goes. I can imagine that only great things will come from this. Unfortunately I don’t have a lot of suggestions for your particular situation. Perhaps focusing on each child’s strengths. What does he/she do well, regardless of disorder or disability? Focus on what they do do well and let them lead that way. I think that would really promote their given strength or skill and build confidence in their own abilities. I wouldn’t know the first thing about approaching your students, but I know that you are a very capable educator. Let us know how it goes.

  2. Jeremy thank you, for the compliments, it is a journey with each student and I am looking forward to allowing the world see the potential and growth of my students. Not only to highlight their achievements, but to show and tell anyone listening that all and any student is capable to being a leader in their own way, making them contributors to their learning and their environment. My situation is unique I agree and would never say that “regular” suggestions always work, but any idea or suggestion is a good one. I will try your suggestion. I also look forward to your future responses in our journey. Thanks again.

  3. Pingback: Little Leaders – The spark « Learning to Lead, Inspiring to Change

  4. Pingback: Exceeding Expectations « Learning to Lead, Inspiring to Change

  5. Pingback: Exceeding Expectations | Letting People know what happens at Brightbank Academy

Leave a Reply

