Little Leaders – GoogleDocs Student Reflections.

Picture created by mlmbadboy.com

On Tuesday, the students were given their first formal opportunity to work on a Google Document to answer questions / complete an investigative assignment about the Inuit in Canada.

INUIT STUDY

Their were two essential elements that I wanted from this activity, one for the students to make inquiries and learn about a specific group of people in Canada,  the second was that I wanted students to use technology to learn collaboratively, working with each other to enhance each others learning (Cooperative Learning).  With the activity complete my follow up activity was to have the students reflect, not on what they learned but more on the process used to learn.

To determine how the students liked the activity and what they thought of the activity, I asked a few questions that each student was required to answer:

Here are the students responses or reflections:

Airplane wrote : The Googledocs that you put up. Yes. Becuase it gave me lots of information. It gave me lots of information that I can all understand. It helps me lear about every thing about the Inuit.Yes I would this can also help me in a test.No every thing was great!

Rocket wrote : WE USE googledocs
I DID LIKE IT!
BECAUSE I SAW ARYONE
IF WE LENING ABOUT IUNWT
SPELL THE FOOD THAT THEY EAT
I WELL US IT AGAIN
YES ,THAT PEOPLE COPYED ME

Rabbit wrote: we did docs. yes i like it . we can help each other. work with each other. yes i like it. yes i would use it again. No i dount

and finally,

Lizard wrote: because it was fun. yes. bay me ascing for help. it helps me get alon.
yes.
yes.
no.

As you can tell, I did not edit or change the students responses, I simply cut and pasted their comments.

To myself the activity was both a success and a learning experience. Although at times I needed to guide students as to where they could locate information, it was easy for the students to proceed from there. The students loved getting the instant and direct feed back (however at present I haven’t shown them how to use the CHAT section). Overall in my opinion the students enjoyed working on this activity and also enjoyed using Google Docs. I will definitely be using this as a learning and teaching tool again. A special thanks to @carolgau and @aleaness for helping me understand the ins and outs of GoogleDoc’s

Our next step is to use the information we gathered to guide our learning and finish off the unit/topic with a return visit to the document, however without access to the internet for information. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

