The Canadian Myth – In jest

Maple leaf

Through social media and network, more specifically twitter, I have increased my professional network tenfold in less then ten months. During my networking adventure I have connected with many individuals many of which are in the United States, and often during conversations I will throw in some humorous stereotypes about Canadians. One of my new found colleagues @L_Hilt commented that I was the king of these little tidbits. I off handily mentioned that maybe I should write a post about them to bring some humor, but before I begin I would like to refer you to the many picture that are within the post. They are pictures of some of the elements that I will be discussing. So here it goes:

Sleddog races in Austria

As Canadians we do have many pets, as you can see there is my moose Janelle, my sled-dog team Jade, Violet, Nexus, Arora, Inuk, Kodiak, Ginger, Snowball and Night-Shade.

Moose calf Our oldest family pet is Grinder, he is our Beaver. I would have loved to attach a picture of him but, he was very uncooperative.

I will not lie, it is generally very cold in Canada. There is snow on the ground for roughly 9 months of the year. Although I can imagine some of you cringing at this thought, don’t worry it is a good thing. This ensures that my winter home – my igloo remains intact longer. Be assured that there are vast spaces of land where people do not live in Canada, but this does not mean that I do not know George, Aviva, Chris, Jen, Jana and many others.

O'canada maple syrupYou can often reach me most evenings in  my igloo, sitting on my chesterfield, wearing my toque (yes we wear toques most of the time) watching curling or hockey, eating Maple Syrup on Canadian Bacon. Oh and speaking of Maple Syrup – we put that S#@? on everything. If you come to visit I will tell you that you should try our signature dish which is Poutine, but don’t forget the Maple Syrup.

Please be aware if you are going to visit that there are two dictionaries that will help you to communicate Moose mountiean English-French and an English-Newfoundlander, but be assured that all Canadians including our Mountie (that’s our police) are all able to speak American. Except we mess up the words aboot (about), roof and tend to end every sentence with Eh. It is like our period, question mark and exclamation point.

Finally, before I finish I would like to clear up a few last things. Yes we do have a prime-minister, and we do use electricity, but lamp oil is better and finally we up here do know that there is some thing called StarBucks, but you should definitly try Tim Hortans. If you would like to try any or our exports we are willing to trade or barter. During the summer we can deliver in our trucks and during the summer, it takes a little longer but the snow mobiles speed things up.

I hope you enjoyed my small jest, and I hope it brought a smile to you face, however if you have any questions or need some clarification please do not hesitate to ask – see we are such a polite people. hahahaha

3 thoughts on “The Canadian Myth – In jest

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Canadian Myth – In jest « Learning to Lead, Inspiring to Change -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

