A rushed Year-end and Heart Breaking Goodbye

As most teachers in my school and my division, prepare to finish their last few days of the school year, myself and two other colleagues ended our school year with our students early. Myself, George Couros @gcouros and Norm Usiskin @nusiskin, hastily scrambled through the day as we prepared to embark on, what I am sure will be an amazing learning and connecting adventure, as we head to #ISTE 2011 in Philadelphia.

As I boarded my flight I looked forward to meeting many of my PLN for the first time, face to face, to sharing the years ideas and experiences and most of all to learning together in preparation for the next school year. However, as the flight crew dimmed the lights of our red-eye flight my mind wandered away from the excitment and back to my students. In that quite time while my other travellers slept, my mind relaxed and i came to a huge realization, that there is one thing that I will truly miss and did not have the time to fully express. I will miss my students, my KIDS (as many of us refer to). With my year ending quickly, and with all of the year end requirements, I regret not being there for the last three days, for the hugs goodbye, for the packing up of every project that we worked on and to see all the excited smiles, for summer on that last day. This is all compounded with the fact that next year I will not be returning to my school, and will not be there to greet them on the first day of school, to hear the stories and to get my long awaited summer hugs.

Don’t misunderstand me, I am extremely excited about moving into administration and becoming a Principal next year. I am actaully elated about all the possibilities, looking forward to all the new relationships and connections I will be making. It is just that, I have worked with some of the student for two years, and I . . . . . I just wish that I could take them with me.

I think that the hardest aspect of this years transition, is that I may never see some of my KIDS again due to the nature of my current position, and that I will not be there at the beginning of next year for those that return. To see their smiling faces, to hear about their summer adventures and yes once again to get my morning hugs.

I wish them all the best in the future and hope that their lives are filled with excitement, happiness and learning. In addition I hope that in some small way I made a difference and influenced their live, as they have influenced and changed mine.

Thank you kids, till we meet again.

5 thoughts on “A rushed Year-end and Heart Breaking Goodbye

  1. praise to God,you got the principalship.Everything happens for a reason.Somehow or other,you never can have it all.Just take what life gives you and make the best of it.You will make a great principal.All the best!
    @sjaafar

  2. What a lovely goodbye tribute! Your “kids” are so lucky to have you. Can’t wait to see what you do in administration! You’ll be awesome, Shawn!

    Aviva

  3. Congrats on becoming a principal, and what an opportunity to go to ISTE, but rushed goodbyes SUCK. That’s heartache. I’m not sure how well I would handle leaving three days early. That’s a tough scenario.

    Best wishes to you next year. Time will heal all wounds and all that business…

    Thanks for sharing.

    – @newfirewithin

  4. I see,through this post alone, why you will be a great administrator. But don’t worry, you will still have your kids. Maybe not the same ones. That’s one of the wonderful things. Each year brings a new batch of kids who are going to need your special caring. And the special Ed room is just down the hall. It’s a wonderful place for a 10 min. Pick-me- up in the middle of a stressful day. You will still have kids to care for and believe me they will keep you busy! Congratulations. It’s got to be one of the best jobs in the world! We’re so lucky to be able to run around all day caring about kids and teachers and learning and getting paid for it.

  5. What a great post Shawn. It really shoes that you are ready to move into Admin because you have not only the skills for it but also the heart. The new kids you will form relationships with will be lucky to have you.

Leave a Reply

