Door Decorating

It is a simple thing teachers do to make their classrooms welcoming and inviting to students and to parents. Decorating one’s classroom door is something that I did at least once a month as a teacher; either having welcome back signs on it with leaves to signify fall or creatively making a Christmas scene when it came to that time of year.

However, this year I was unsure about decorating my office door. Being the Principal I don’t always have students coming to my office and if they do they aren’t always happy about having to come down.

I was, however, pleasantly surprised, both in September and here in October, finding my door already decorated.  It was wonderful to see.  My Kindergarten and Grade One students, with the help of their teacher, have been decorating my door. The best part of it is that the majority of items that are placed on my door are student created, rather than store bought.

It is a pleasure to see the students work, their faces when they come down and show me which item they created and the look on parents faces when I tell them that I had nothing to do with the decorating; that it was all students.

Honestly, it puts a great big smile on my face and I look forward to seeing what the students are going to create each month to decorate my door.

Instead of posting every month with a new picture of my door, please feel free to follow along at http://www.facebook.com/stormSBSprincipal our school’s new Facebook Page.

Leave a Reply

