New Faces, New Stars, New Possibilities

It was cold on Monday. Regardless, students in the faculty of education, as well as representatives from multiple school divisions, converged on the Butterdome on the University of Alberta Campus. Perspective students had the opportunity to meet with people from different jurisdictions about the upcoming out look for jobs in education as well as what divisions had to offer and the processes involved.

To quickly convey my feelings, I would say that this was an amazing and excellent experience. As a principal of a school it allowed me to meet with possible candidates and talk with them. Through these conversations I was able to see the spark of excitement and intrigue in the eyes and faces of these soon to be educators. I also was excited about the questions the students had, and that many of the people I talked to are interested in getting, for a lack of better words, their feet wet in a smaller school setting. A setting that has a close family-like feel, with tons of support, mentoring and assistance. Something that I personally remember craving when I first became a teacher.

Another element I really enjoyed was being able to convey to perspective students and employees what made Parkland School Division a great place to work and learn and to be part of an amazing team. It allowed me to present the School Divisions’ mission and vision, which makes the division unique. The responses I received from people as I talked to them was great.   They liked the direction Parkland was going and they looked forward to possibly working for Parkland.

What I saw and what I felt reminded me of a great quote that I think all teachers both new and seasoned should post somewhere, not only for themselves as a reminder, but also for their students.

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine as children do. It’s not just in some of us; it is in everyone. And as we let our own lights shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

Marianne Williamson

I will close by saying this: if you are an administrator, next time your division participates in a career fair, I would strongly recommend attending.  In addition, I would suggest that you take a teacher. Trust me, it will be a revitalizing, exciting and memorable experience. I would be happy to hear about your experiences and strategies if you have attended one of these career fairs.

Leave a Reply

