Instructional Leadership, what is it and how does it look?

Screen-Shot-2012-06-13-at-3.55.32-PM-2hl5az3

Recently, I have been having many discussions with my colleagues and peers about Instructional Leadership. Like many things in education, different individuals have different ideas and different thoughts on what it is and how it looks. Some of my colleagues have looked at the elements that relate to pedagogy and curriculum, while others have focused on the ability to assist colleagues in their delivery and other standards relating to teaching.

Through all of the discussions and conversations I determined two things, one that I need to closely look at what I consider instructional leadership and to secondly to build a plan and ensure that the plan is evident, understood and followed within my school. However, I still needed to figure out an easy understanding to what is instructional leader ship. While talking to a friend/mentor/colleague it was explained to me in the simplest method.

George Couros said, “What is your foot print? How will someone walking into Seba Beach school know that you have left a mark / legacy in the school”. After hearing this it all made sense, how will what I do, the decisions I make, the changes I make and the expectations that I have be displayed, remembered, and followed in the school in my presence and without my presence. This was a great question and something that has had me thinking.

Over the next few weeks I will be looking at the Instructional Leadership requirements in the Principal Quality Standards, reflecting on how I have been or will be working on them and then detail what I have learned. In addition to looking at my understandings, impressions and reflections I will be shadowing, at present 3 colleagues that are in my opinion Master Administrators that have a great understanding and application of Instructional Leadership. For those interested in taking a look ahead at whom I will be shadowing here they are:

Carolyn CameronPrincipal of Greystone Centennial Middle School.

Glen ThielPrincipal of Brookwood School.

Sheryl BridgemanPrincipal of Parkland Village School.

For those that may be unclear as to what the Principal Quality Standards designate under the dimension of Instructional Leadership I have listed them below:

The principal ensures that all students have ongoing access to quality teaching and learning opportunities to meet the provincial goals of education.

Descriptors

The principal: 

 a) demonstrates a sound understanding of current pedagogy and curriculum. 

 b) implements strategies for addressing standards of student achievement.

 c) ensures that student assessment and evaluation practices throughout the school are fair, appropriate  and balanced. 

d) implements effective supervision and evaluation to ensure that all teachers consistently meet the Alberta
Teaching Quality Standard.


e) ensures that appropriate pedagogy is utilized in response to various dimensions of student diversity.

f) ensures that students have access to appropriate programming based on their individual learning needs.

g) recognizes the potential of new and emerging technologies, and enables their meaningful integration in
support of teaching and learning. 

h) ensures that teachers and other staff communicate and collaborate with parents and community agencies, where appropriate, to support student learning.

i) supports the use of community resources to enhance student learning.

If you have any suggestions, ideas, constructive criticisms or thoughts in relation to my upcoming adventure, they would be greatly appreciated.

2 thoughts on “Instructional Leadership, what is it and how does it look?

  1. Pingback: Instructional Leadership, what is it and how does it look? | Educational Technology - Yeshiva Edition | Scoop.it

  2. Pingback: Instructional Leadership, what is it and how do...

Leave a Reply

