Its not about doing more, Its about doing differently.

At the beginning of the school year the staff at Seba Beach School implemented a Numeracy program to better meet the needs of students as well as provide some interventions when necessary. I was fortunate to share a group with one of the other staff working with two groups. The first is a grade 8-9 group and the other is a grade 6-7 group, both with very different needs and abilities.

As I have worked with the groups we progressed through what would be classified as traditional methods of doing math, but as I worked at remembering some of the skills and techniques that I was helping my students with, I found myself becoming more embedded in my role as learner.  I researched different methods and techniques and found that my sense and understanding of numbers has increased. Also learning some of the techniques and tricks, as my students call them has caused a shift in the relationships I have with my students. As we learn together, the students are observing that adults are still capable and willing to learn. That learning is not only something that occurs when you are in school between the ages of 4 and 18.

I now look forward to my numeracy blocks with my students, not that I can impart knowledge, but that we can learn together to figure out how numbers, patterns and the relationships of numbers work. The only thing that I have found that is odd is how much time I spend on it. I would have never thought that I would be up till 11:00 pm playing on my Ipad learning different approaches to math.

If you have a technique or strategy that you would like to share please feel free to, I look forward to learning them.

Leave a Reply

